The Ultimate Blog Party, 2013 Edition

Ultimate Blog Party 2013
The Ultimate Blog Party, 2013 edition.  The 7th annual UBP. Wait a minute while I wrap my head around that. 

ETA: The after party.  No great event is complete without the after party.  The Golden Globes, The Emmys, The Oscars. The Ultimate Blog Party.

The last time I participated, UBP was a year old.   There are new faces around here.  In fact most are new faces, at least to me.  But then again, I am a “new” face.

I am not a Mommy Blogger, I am a real life blogger, and really life gets ugly and messy.  Mine did, in just the past 24 hours.   I must be the most awesomest hostess ever.  Invite the blogosphere over for a party, only to end up throwing a pity party.  I rock.

Aside from my life lately, the #UBP was amazing and I did meet some amazing people.  I may have found a business adventure, which would be awesome considering the length of my unemployment.

So thank you to those who stopped by, thank you for those who found me on Facebook and Twitter.  I promise it won’t always be doom and gloom around here.  It just seems it is my turn to have the universe shit on me.

***********************************************************************************

Hi, I’m Becky, and I started blogging way back in 2005.  I got serious about blogging, well, any day now, I hope.   As I said, I’m Becky, and this is supposed to be my introduction post for UBP. 

The thing is, I hate writing these things.  I can give you a list of hats I wear (single mom, living with bipolar disorder), things I like to do (photography social media), and obsessions I have (margaritas and stilettos), but all told I am more than the sum of my parts.

I have been doing this single mom gig since 2004, and in that time the cute adorable daughters I had then have morphed into moody eye rolling, door slamming teenagers.  They don’t roll their eyes all the time or slam doors every day, but when they do, they do it with enthusiasm and style.  I believe it takes a village to raise a child, and most days I feel that I am that village’s idiot.  Although there are some days I think I get it right.  I guess only time and the amount of therapy they require will tell.  My parenting philosophy is basically give them guidance, let them make their own mistakes, keep them off the pole and out of jail. And remember three out of four are good odds, even in Vegas.

I am a photographer who dreams of getting paid to shoot people. I am a hoarder reader of books, a mother, a girlfriend, a future step-mom, the black sheep of my family, and an embarrassment to my children. I am a connoisseur of margaritas, (seriously it has become my life’s mission to find the best). I am known for my stilettos, my cheap entertainment and inappropriate humor.  Last year I became the unofficial official photographer of my daughter’s cheer squad, so I am shooting teenage girls most of the school year, I just don’t get paid.  I often dream of world domination, but would settle for a paycheck that would allow me to live the life I am dying to become accustomed to.

Not everything around here is a joke, it’s not all fun and games.  There are times I write about living with bipolar disorder.  I open up and let you in to the chaos in my head, and take you on a journey through the darkness that envelopes me at times.  I do this, not in an attempt to scare off readers, but in hoping it will lead to a better understanding of what mental illness is like for those of us living with it.  I also have very strong opinions about social and sometimes political issues and I like to write about them here as well.  I call out the easily offended who think they should be able to live their lives unoffended by anything. 

I mentioned at the beginning that I have been blogging since 2005, even though the archives here start in January 2013.  That’s because I started blogging on Blogger, then moved to WordPress, then got my own domain but due to financial reasons caused by unemployment lost it and moved those archives back to WordPress, then started here.  Yes, it is the Hansel and Gretel of blogging. 

I have been unemployed since September 2011, and since then, I have been trying to make a name for myself in social media. It would seem that Ms. Awesome Sauce is taken (and sort of out of date).  To help the cause, you can join my many dozens ok fine 10 minions by following me on Twitter, where I tweet about my stupid cats, my unintentionally funny daughters, and everything I can’t put on Facebook.   We can be friends on Facebook, where I post sometimes inappropriate musing about life in general, and get into heated debates with people over political issues I know next to nothing about. You can follow Welcome to My Life on Facebook, but it’s really rather boring over there. On Pinterest I hoard stilettos, (mainly Louboutins. Are there any other shoes?) plan a wedding I’ll never be able to afford, build a house I’ll never live in, and create meals we’ll never eat and try to turn tee shirts into prom dresses. And on Instagram I post photos of my cats Good and Evil Bad and Worse Princess and Baby in an attempt to give them away.

39 comments on “The Ultimate Blog Party, 2013 Edition

  1. I love your style of writing. You are very funny and your emotion comes out so well. I will gladly become a “minion”.

    • @AnissaMayhew, I have been secretly (maybe not so secretly?) stalking you online for years. So that fact that you left a comment here, I may have to have it framed! :-) Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Just wanted to let you know that the position of village idiot is taken…..at least in my village. I married him.

    • Thank you Niki, for the return visit. I am so excited to get to know the new people I have found, and who seem to have found me! Have a great weekend.

  3. Thanks, again, for stopping by my blog (Kls’s Korner). I love your intro. Will definitely be back to visit again!!

    PS – All of us with teenagers could schedule a Village Idiot meet-up!!! LOL.

  4. Hi Becky! For someone who’s also considered the black sheep of the family, I think it sounds like you are doing a fine job as the village idiot. I hope to get some insight from you on those door slamming years – I am so not looking forward to the teenage years.

    • The only way I have found to survive the door slamming eye rolling years is to learn to slam your own door and roll your own eyes. It confuses them. Especially when you do it first.

  5. i’m also bipolar – bipolar II. i’ll definitely start following your blog, as it’s always helpful to find someone who understands.. . stopping by from #ubp13! In addition to reading, I’m also writing a memoir and I make journals! Please stop by my website at http://www.ouata.wordpress.com and visit my journal store! ouata.etsy.com

    • pookielocks, I have kept a journal (almost always in a 3 or 5 subject spiral notebook since I was 12 years old. What I write here is only the tip of the iceberg of what bipolar disorder is like for me. But You are right, having someone who gets it, helps a lot. I’m glad you came by.

  6. Hi! I could have sworn I left a comment here so if I did and it hasn’t been approved yet, consider this a bonus comment. LOL! I tell ya, the mind is the first to go. Sounds like we have lots in common so you know I’ll be following along. As for social media, I can help if you ever need some advice in that area.

    UBP13 Party Goer,
    {Big hugs}
    @Dayngr

    • @Dayngr, if you left a previous comment, it seems to have been eaten by some sort of internet gremlins ate it.
      I am glad you stopped by, it’s very nice to meet you. And I appreciate the offer for the help with social media.

    • @PixieDustSaving, Strong is a word people often use to describe me, but I don’t see myself as strong. I am a single mom, and that means I just do what needs to be done. I parent my girls.. I am mom, no different that any other mom out there. But I do take it as a compliment, so thank you. And welcome!

  7. Oh, that was just perfect! My daughter can do the eye roll and door slam perfectly too and half the time I have no idea what it was I said or did. Then the rest of the time, she is sweet as can be. Love photography, books, shoes, and yes margaritas as well, and I do have cats too…well you read my post so you know I have a zoo over here. By the way, the cats are moody too. Just liked you on FB and followed on Twitter!

  8. Hello, hello!!!! Stopping by from the UBP!!!! And thank you for stopping by my place, too! I tell you what, I will give you my lifetime supply of vouchers for stilettos. I nearly break my leg wearing flats. It’s not good. Happy UBP-ing!!!!

    PS: I’m stalking you on FB because that’s typically where I’m hanging out. It’s much easier to check and type status updates instead of blog posts in the bathroom.

    • @Alisha Jaybird I begged my mother for my first pair of “heels” at 10 years old. They were 2″ high. By the time I was 15 I was drooling over 5″ heels. It wasn’t until 4 years ago that I finally bought my first pair of stilettos. And I’ve been hooked ever since.

    • @Elizabeth, ah I remember the days of being a new blogger. Although I have to admit it was much easier back then. We didn’t know what tags were, or SEO, or brands. We just knew how to write our story. Good luck!

  9. Nice to meet you! I’m a reader too — just tried to clean off the very full bookshelves this month during some major spring cleaning.
    Hope you have an awesome time at the party!

Share your thoughts

